Junior League debuts

Autor: Alex Zarganis Published: 16 Dec 2012 | Comments: 0

On Saturday, December 1 the Polish League of American Football (PLFA) held a meeting in Warsaw devoted to the formation of a new junior league entitled PLFA J.

The league's birth comes on the heels of Poland's first-ever junior tournament, which has held on September 1-2 in Bielawa. 83 players on four teams competed in that successful event. The 2013 season will offer 14-17 old players their first chance to compete on a more organized and regular basis, as 17 teams from 14 cities will take the field in 8-man competition.

The 17 teams were divided into five groups, each with either three or four teams. Each of the five groups will hold two elimination tournaments, with those taking place in Będzin, Bielawa, Bydgoszcz, Krakow, Olsztyn, Poznań, Warsaw, Wrocław, Zabrze and Szczecin. The tournaments are scheduled for the weekends of August 31-September 1 and September 14-15.

As the primary objective of the youth league is to develop the skills of Poland's younger players, the tournaments will take on the character of a two-day training camp. The second day of the camps will be devoted to the actual playing of the elimination tournaments.

The winners of each of the five groups and the top three second-place teams will advance to the playoffs. The two-day final tournament will be held during the weekend of September 28-29 in Bielawa. Four quarterfinal matches will be played on that Saturday, with the semifinals and the championship game coming on Sunday.

The formation of PLFA J was made possible largely due to a donation of 400 complete sets of equipment from the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). 15 of the 17 teams competing in PLFA J were beneficiaries of the donation. The Zabrze Sparta Rangers and the AZS Silesia Rebels were the only teams that did not apply for the equipment.

PLFA J Group A:

  1. Krakow Kings
  2. Warsaw Eagles Junior
  3. Warsaw Spartans

PLFA J Group B:

  1. Szczecin Gryfici
  2. Kozły Poznań
  3. Poznań Patriots

PLFA J Group C:

  1. Bielawa Owls
  2. Wrocław Devils
  3. Wrocław Giants

PLFA J Group D:

  1. AZS Silesia Rebels
  2. Zabrze Sparta Rangers
  3. Tychy Falcons
  4. Zagłębie Steelers Interpromex

PLFA J Group E:

  1. Toruń Angels
  2. Bydgoszcz Archers
  3. Olsztyn Lakers
  4. Gdynia Seahawks

Alex Zarganis
PLFA Press Bureau